5 Things I Have Learned From My Kids TV Shows

5

 

I get people all the time schooling me on not letting my children watch too much TV. Well, when you live in Arizona, where it’s too hot to even stick your foot out the door, then there’s no such thing as too much TV. I have caught myself plenty of times watching my kids favorite TV shows with them. (And maybe even without them… shhh! Don’t tell anyone!) So while watching these shows, I came up with a list of what they have taught me:

  1. It is OK to believe that your toys and tools actually talk to you! Yes, I know that children like to make believe and everything but for awhile my oldest son (when he was younger) had butt loads of tantrums because his toys wouldn’t talk back to him… (Thanks “Doc McStuffins”!) I had gotten him a boy version of the “Doc McStuffins” medical kit and well, you can only guess what happened there. His stethoscope was “broken”. There was also a time where he watched a show called “Handy Manny”. (Oh boy) Yep, you guessed it. Tantrums. All because his plastic tool kit didn’t help him build anything with his blocks.
  2. It is OK to sing about EVERYTHING in public. For awhile my oldest thought it was ok to create his life into a musical. Since all his shows sing about everything.. (and I mean everything).. why couldn’t he? Lets just say we had plenty of strangers staring us down in public!
  3. It is OK for a 5 year old to take care of a 2 year old. (“Max and Ruby”) I don’t know how many times my son has asked me where their Mom is! I continuously try to refrain from the question because honestly, I have no idea where the hell those kids parents are! This has made my 4 year old believe that when we need to go to the store, that he is old enough to babysit his 2 year old brother, so that they don’t need to go. (Umm…no. Not happenin’ mister!)
  4. It is OK to smack the TV to answer a question. Let me explain… There are many kids TV shows out there that have your child interact with the program. A couple examples of that would be “Dora the Explorer” and “Team Umizoomi”. My two year old has an arm on him. He is strong, let me tell you. That’s why I call him my future football player. When he is watching the TV and the show asks him to pick out the square out of a group of shapes, he likes to run up to the TV and smack it! He supposedly thinks that this is like clicking a button on the computer with the mouse. What have I learned from this? Don’t put the TV low enough for the kids to touch it!
  5. It is OK to believe that there is a whole community of talking animals and little mermaid children in the ocean. (Yes, I am talking about you “Bubble Guppies”) Now I love this show but for awhile I tried to stay away from it. My oldest would ask me a billion and one questions. (And still does..) “Why is the teacher a fish? Can fish talk? Why is it raining if they are under water?” It never ended. For awhile he honestly thought that animals could talk and just weren’t speaking to him because they didn’t like him..

 

All joking aside, most of these shows are very beneficial. My kids have learned ALOT! Counting, ABC’s, shapes, responsibility, communication and friendship. “Nick Jr.” has done a great job helping me teach them things they will need to be ready for Kindergarten! Now if they can only teach my kids to clean their room…..

 

momsterslink.png
#momsterslink

 

Happy-Now-Button-2
Jenerallyinformed.com
5 thoughts on “5 Things I Have Learned From My Kids TV Shows

  1. Great blog. I’ve always wondered how to get my kids to clean their room. Lol. If you figure out the answer, please let me know.

    Like

  2. I know on number 3 right?! Or why does Dora wander all over the world alone!! Then don’t get me started on Calliou. We had to ban that from watching around here, his whining made me want to throw the towel in on parenting! I love this post. Thanks so much for sharing it at the Happy Now link- Up!

    Like

  3. I too have never agreed with the whole “don’t let them watch too much tv”. Mickey Mouse Clubhouse was on my television for 4 years straight and I tell you what…it taught my kids a lot! Like I would sit down to do some flash cards with them only to be surprised at how much they already knew just from watching that show. Now that they are older we watch different shows that teach more life skills. I will have a first grader, kindergartner, and a preshcooler this year. I am horrible with having to teach math and reading….I like art and teaching them common sense. I will leave the math and reading to the school. Thanks for linking up with #momsterslink and hope to see you again today!

    Like

    1. I completely agree with you! A lot of other mommy’s that I know, would tell me not to let my child be babysat by the TV. Well, I am not necessarily having them babysat by the TV! haha. I have noticed that both my boys are growing their vocabulary, learning the alphabet, patterns, shapes, musical instruments, etc. It’s actually quite amazing how much TV shows have changed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

