Kids TV Shows- The Secrets Behind..(Max and Ruby)

maxandrubykidtv

 

 

Is it just me, or do you just want to call Child Protective Services on the main characters of “Max and Ruby”? One day while watching the show with my 2 boys, I decided to do a Google search on the show. It seemed to be unanimous that the top question everyone had on their minds were, “where are their parents”? Did they pass away? Did they up and leave to never come back? That is when I decided to do a little digging.

2dca25c3c05c38355800846b411cc897

If you watch a lot of the show like I do (because of my boys), you will notice that when anyone goes into the living room, you will see a family photo. Who is in it you might ask? Max, Ruby, Grandma and Grandpa (which I still have yet to see!).

09072012115-729128.jpg

I don’t think I have ever heard anyone ever talk about the parents on any episode either. Ruby is supposedly 7 years old and Max is only 3. Why in the world would anyone allow a 7 year old to watch such a young child? Let alone go on the bus together to town to go pick up a present for grandma, who seems to be about 150 years old by now. It seems like every episode that I watch, they are getting ready for her birthday party.

Another question that I keep is asking myself is, how are they getting the money to pay the bills? There is electricity, phone, groceries, rent/ mortgage..etc. Where is the income coming from?

Final notice bill

After streaming through the countless number of blogs with theories and conspiracies, I stumbled on an article from Wikipedia about a quote from the writer of Max and Ruby, Rosemary Wells. “Max & Ruby celebrates the relationship between Ruby and her younger brother, Max, and the universal nature of sibling relationships.” Rosemary Wells, the author of the children’s books the show is based on, says: “We don’t see Max and Ruby’s parents because I believe that kids resolve their issues and conflicts differently when they’re on their own. The television series gives kids a sense about how these two siblings resolve their conflicts in a humorous and entertaining way.”

Do I find this humorous and entertaining? Entertaining maybe, but I am not amused with the fact that there are no parents. My oldest son actually thought Ruby was Max’s mother! This show may show kids that they need to be independent and not rely on their parents, but why does it have to be everything? Show Ruby helping Max get ready for bed, or Ruby fixing up a simple snack. Not go to town on a bus alone, cook, clean and become the permanent guardian to her 3 year old brother. I still want my kids to rely on me for things.

Is that so wrong?

 

*If you enjoyed this post, please let me know and I will do a weekly post on a children’s TV show! *

Leave a Reply

