When the Last Curl Falls..

when-the-last-curl-falls

 

Sitting in the chair, holding my son, trying to keep him calm for what is to come. Hearing the sounds of the electric hair buzzer puts me back to reality. All I can do is sit there and watch in the mirror as my youngest son, slowly becomes a ‘big boy’.

Adam, my youngest son, who is only 2, is my last child and I am praying not my last. Both my children had incredible curls while growing up, which made it hard to ever make the decision to cut it. In my mind, cutting my sons hair, meant that he was no longer my little baby. The little 8 lb. baby that I brought home from the hospital. The little boy who would hold his hands up and say “Mama”, so I would pick him up. At some point I knew that it wasn’t just the curls that I was sad to lose.. It was my son growing up.

Even though my son will always be my little baby, he will slowly grow up just like every child does. He will begin talking, wanting more independence, go to school, play sports, get a job, have his first girlfriend, get married and have his own children. Although some of these milestones may seem to be lifetimes away, I know that time can runaway from you and the next thing you know, they are all grown up.

Talking about a simple haircut may be silly to some, but when you are a mother, you know that when milestones hit, you can become a complete mess. The fact that he is my last child, as of now, makes this harder to handle, more than my first born. Will I ever get to hold another newborn again that is my own? Will I ever get to hear those coo’s and being able to rock back in forth in the middle of night in that old wooden rocking chair?

As I sit with my son, I finally hear the words, “Okay, last piece!” I look up at the mirror of a little boy who is the spitting image of my oldest son. He sits and stares at himself in the mirror with a look of satisfaction. I watch as the hair stylist cuts the last piece. I look down and watch the last curl fall to the floor. That is when I knew that my little baby, was forever my ‘big boy’.

 

35 thoughts on “When the Last Curl Falls..

  1. Aww I remember Harrys first hair cut and how he went from a baby to a big boy, it’s heartbreaking! I have all of their curls stashed away to keep forever, my eldest daughter didn’t even have a hair cut until she was four as I couldn’t bear to part with her curls! #kcacols

    Like

  2. Awww, a mother’s heart truly is so tender. My boy is now 17 months, and I’m scrambling-wondering where the time went. Honestly, I have yet to take him for his first hair cut-I think he’ll be my baby a little longer (: Thanks for sharing! ❤ #KCACOLS

    Like

    1. Aww. It was a hard decision because my son had the most adorable ringlets. It was so hard for me to see them go and now I have a 2 year old that looks identical to his 5 year old brother. Thanks so much for commenting!

      Like

  3. Haircuts are surprisingly emotional, aren’t they? My youngest has had haircuts but he still has crazy hair. Some think I should cut it shorter but I like him being a crazy-haired baby as long as he can. #kcacols

    Like

    1. Oh I definitely understand where your coming from! 🙂 I tried so hard to keep his crazy curly baby hair as long as I could. I even tried trimming it myself, but we live in AZ and during the summer I just felt so guilty because he was so hot! Thank you so much for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I found having my sons hair cut for the first time really emotional, mainly because his dad took him, and he came back looking so different and grown up, it goes too quick! 😢 #KCACOLS

    Like

    1. Oh my goodness.. if my husband had done it.. I would have been an emotional wreck. Worse than what I was when I was actually there. (and that was bad enough! haha)
      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  5. Awww I know exactly how you feel! My youngest is 3 and I am not ready for him to grow up and be a big boy! He is going to be my baby forever!

    Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on Sunday x

    Like

  6. I have not had this experience yet as I have not taken my daughters to the hairdresser yet. I have trimmed their hairs myself a little bit but it is not the same. My eldest is now asking to take her to the hairdresser so I might do soon I think. These are indeed huge milestones. I’m sure it is really emotional. Thanks so much for sharing this at #KCACOLS, 🙂 x

    Like

    1. Awww yeah I had trimmed his hair myself for awhile because I honestly wasn’t ready to part with his curls just yet. Living in arizona, it is way too hot for him with his thick hair. I knew it was time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. This is really sweet. It’s hard to accept they are growing up. I’m struggling with my second, youngest and last at the moment. We are definitely heading full stream into the big girl age.
    #KCACOLS

    Like

    1. Oh goodness. 🙂 I do have any girls (yet) 🙂 but I just having my boys I can see how hard it is to handle some of these milestones. Can you just imagine how I will be when they go to college? Oh man… haha. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw I definitely know the feeling. Its like you know you should take them, but your mentally not there yet. 🙂 I think it is pretty funny how I would see my mom get all upset about these things when I was younger. Now that I have my 2 boys, I am experiencing it all. Thank you for commenting!

      Like

  8. My youngest has this beautiful long dark curly hair and I’m holding on to it for as long as I can! He’s 16 months and I don’t know if we’ll have another either so I’m keeping him a “baby” forever jk…sorta

    Like

    1. Lol oh my goodness I love the sorta part! Haha. Well he’s starting to try to talk and go potty.. Lol I’m sitting here, like are you serious? :-p The haircut was enough for me!

      Like

  9. Oh this was so sweet. Our little boys are born with full heads of hair, which quickly turns to curls, so I Know exactly what you mean. I resisted Monkey Boy’s hair being cut for about 2 years as well and then “surprise” his abuela (grandmother) came back with him and he ‘had no hair’, but rather a short big boy cut. I was devastated (and sometimes still bring it up slightly laughingly). I plan to “protect” Turtle Boy’s hair for as long as possible, though his texture is slightly different and thus may mean it will be done sooner. Either way, it saddens me to see their beautiful curls go and I secretly wish they could have beautiful happy curls into their teen years! 🙂

    Like

      1. I’ve already let my MIL know that she will no longer be allowed to take Turtle Boy for any kind of hair cut, trim, etc. without supervision! lol 🙂

        Like

  10. Such a sweet post! I have three boys and can totally relate. My oldest is now 12 (!) and he had curls and used to hold up his chubby arms and say “hold you me?” Now he mostly just asks for seconds at the dinner table and begs to disappear into the basement for his allotted video game time. Enjoy them while they’re little! : )

    Like

    1. Awww ugh they are so stinkin adorable when they try talking aren’t they? I love that ‘hold you me?’ I’m just really not looking forward to the teen years later on!

      Like

  11. Baby curls are the BEST! It’s hard to watch them grow up, but then there are so many other adventures that are now possible as they get older.

    Like

Leave a Reply

