#TOP5CRAFTYMAMAS Picks of the Week!

_top5craftymamas

 

Since we are just starting out, this time around we only received 4 submissions but of course we are going to share them with you!!! Make sure to visit all of these lovely ladies’ blogs, links are provided with their submission… Lets get started!!



Fall Tot School Activities!

By: Brianna from Bippity Boppity Business of Being Mom

d4c7e0fa-f963-40b2-a049-15a2d30760c0

This month we are focusing on fall and Halloween activities, mainly revolving around apples! Braydon had so much fun with our arts and crafts this week! We made a “5 Little Pumpkins” vine, and an “A” Apple Ornament. This was great for teaching fine motor skills, as well as creativity, counting, and Literacy. Surprisingly Braydon’s favorite part was coloring not painting! I pretty much let him so everything except the cutting. For our pumpkin craft I filled some of the paint in and did the laminating process.

“A” Apple Craft:

For this craft you will need popsicle sticks, glue, yarn or twine, markers or other form of color, and paper.

To make this cute little ornament, I helped Braydon glue some popsicle sticks in the shape of an A and we let it dry. After it was dry Braydon colored the “A” with some red markers. I set several red markers out in front of him because he likes to change utensils and I wanted to keep the color consistent. Once he had the A colored I had him glue on some paper that I cut out to make the shape of leaves. I then tied some green twine between it and bam! A nice little ornament. During this craft I had been repeating the words apple, red, and “A” to him so he could associate the color letter and word.

“5 Little Pumpkins” Vine Craft:

For this craft you will need an Apple cut in half, orange paint, paint sponges, large paper, ribbon, twine or yarn, scissors, hole punch, laminator, and green marker.

To Make this craft, I cut an apple in half and covered the flat end with orange paint, He stamped a large piece of paper with the paint (I went back over them with a sponge since he couldn’t stamp it too hard, he still had fun though!) and then we set it up to dry while Braydon colored. Once dry We colored some green stems on the pumpkins and then I cut them out. I laminated 5 of them, hole punched the tops, then strung some green twine and orange ribbon through. We plan on keeping this craft and using it as a counting visual for the “5 little pumpkins” rhyme. If you don’t have the book you can find and print out the rhyme online or lookup the cute song on YouTube!

img_4662


 

Halloween Wreath DIY

By: naturallycraftydiy.wordpress.com

October is here and it is the season of ghosts and goblins, spook or be spooked and most importantly tricks or treats. And for many it is a month long celebration. In honor of this bewitching season I have created a door wreath to greet trick or treaters. I think it came out pretty well so I would like to share this Halloween door wreath DIY with you.

This is what you’ll need:

what-you-need-halloween-wreath

  • Styrofoam ring
  • black spray paint (I used an interior/exterior paint since the wreath will be on my front door)
  • Orange acrylic paint
  • Newspaper
  • a roll of black tulle
  • a roll of orange tulle
  • Assorted rolls (I used 6 for a good variety, you can use more or less if you choose) of orange, white and black ribbon, solids and patterned
  • Wooden letters “B-O-O”

****Not pictured-scissors, ruler and clear coat protective paint (clear coat is optional)****

Step 1-Paint

Paint the styrofoam ring black. You only need to paint the front and the edges, no one is going to see the back of the ring. Spray two coats because the styrofoam is porous and it absorbs the paint.

While the ring dries, paint the wooden letters with the orange acrylic paint. Use two coats on the letters as well. When the letters dry, you can opt to spray clear coat over them to make them shine and protect the wood from the outside elements.

Step 2-Cutting tulle and ribbon

cut-tulle-and-ribbon

First cut the tulle into 18 inch long strips. I cut 12 orange and 12 black strips of tulle. I continued on to cut 4 strips of each ribbon color to start. You may find later that you will need to cut a few more strips of ribbon depending on how full you would like the finished project to be.

Step 3-Tying on the ribbon

wreath-with-ribbons

It’s getting fun now! This is where you can make your wreath look any way you would like and it’s pretty easy. I simply wrap the ribbon around the styrofoam ring (hopefully it’s dry by now) and tie a knot to secure it. No need for burning your fingers on a hot glue gun on this one…yay!! I kind of tied the tulle on opposite sides of the ring to give some sort of balance to my wreath. But you don’t have to, I’m just slightly OCD. Add more ribbon as needed until your wreath is as full as you like. Once all of the ribbons are tied on, you can trim some of them down with scissors if they seem somewhat longer than the others. Or you can leave them alone if you like.

Step 4-Adding the “BOO”

This is the final big step. Find the part of the wreath that you want to be the top. Use an orange ribbon to wrap around the top part of the “B” and tie a knot. Then tie the ribbon with the letter attached it, to the wreath. Then grab and “O” and tie the top of that to the bottom of the “B” with the orange ribbon. Make sure the knot of the ribbon is in the back of the letters and cut any extra ribbon so that it cannot be seen from the front. Next, grab the last “O” and tie the top to the bottom of the other “O”. Again, make sure the knot from the ribbon is in the back and cut off the extra so it cannot be seen from the front.

Step 5-Hang the wreath

finished-halloween-wreath

Pretty self explanatory step right there. I did add a little piece of black ribbon to make a loop to hang the wreath from the hook.

Now step back and take a look at your creation. Pretty festive don’t you think? Enjoy your Halloween everyone!!

 


 

diydollar-store-pumpkin

By: Alexis from The Hit or Miss Homemaker

hitormisshomemaker.com

I’ve seen a lot of amazing projects using dollar store pumpkins.  I got one last week to see what fast project I could come up with.  My husband I didn’t want to spend too much and this ended up costing only $3.00!

 

dsp1

Grabbed one of these pumpkins from dollar tree not knowing what I was going to do with it.

dsp3

I also grabbed this witch headband because I’m going to actually use the headband part for my daughters Halloween costume.  For some reason when I got home I just put the headband on the pumpkin and I thought it was so cute!

dsp2

After fooling with it for a few minutes I thought it was cute enough and was done.

dsp4

I found these rub on transfer letters that I bought from the dollar spot at Target a few weeks ago and thought maybe they’d transfer onto the Styrofoam pumpkin.  I had no idea what else I was going to do with them so I figured I’d just do it and see. dsp5

I cut out the letters I needed.  I decided on “Happy Fall” but kinda wish I would have brainstormed that a bit and come up with something better.

dsp6

Placed the first letter with one hand and rubbed with a stick that came with the package I transferred the letter on.

dsp7

It worked!

dsp8

Kinda wonky but still cute!!

dsp9

It’s a cute addition to my little fall display I have on my counter.  This is one of the only places in the house I can put anything because -kids.  I think I’ll make a post about the other things I have on my counter-but that can only happen when I clean the other crap!


Fall Coffee Cozy

by: Jaclyn Bree from Jacylnbree.com

I took up the challenge of coming up with and making a fall-themed craft project in five days.

For anyone who knows me, you probably just sucked in your breath like, “Oh, Jaclyn, honey.  Why?”  Because people who know me know that I have a serious brain flaw: lack of imagination.

But to be honest, I came up with three ideas!  Only one panned out, but I came up with three!

I’m very proud of myself.

My Craft Ideas

My first idea was trying to make a turkey out of a sock or glove.  It probably would have worked but I decided that I didn’t like the way it was going and I put it aside to try my next idea:

A homemade cornucopia.  Daring, right?  I didn’t think so but Hubby kept warning me that it would be hard.  And he was right (don’t tell him I said that).  This idea also probably would have worked but I was down to 3 days by the time I started it and it couldn’t be done (in that amount of time in the manner I chose).  So I took a couple steps back and decided to try my actual first idea (I said the turkey was first, but it was just the first one I tried).

Homemade fall coffee cozy

Ta da!!

It’s a coffee cozy!!  You know, in case you didn’t get that from the title . . .

The Process

Now, I’ve never worked with felt before.  Not like it’s hard.  Just saying.

Coffee cozy supplies

My first problem was that I suddenly didn’t know how to cut out a piece of felt to make the base of the cozy.  I know it looks all straight-forward, but anyone who’s ever made one before (or even seen a pattern before, like I have) knows that its all angles.  None of the edges are horizontal.

Hubby has a cup that has a rubber cozy and a rubber lid.  Ok, ok, silicone.  Whatever.  Picky.  So I took the silicone cozy off and decided that I’m smart enough to figure out for myself how to cut out a cozy to fit around the cup.

I was wrong *hangs head in shame*.

After about 45 frustrating minutes of trying to cut out a piece of felt with the correct curves, Hubby finally demanded that I just cheat and trace the silicone one.  So I threw in the towel and cheated.  I recommend you do it too, if you have a cozy on hand already.  If you don’t then I suggest you hunt down a pattern because even if you have to drive down to Staples to print the thing, it’ll still be faster and better than trying to figure it out yourself.  Or I like to tell myself that because it hurts my feelings to think that somebody else can figure it out easily.

So I folded the silicone cozy in half (not that easy to do, wish it had been made of cloth) and traced three sides of it.  Then I just folded my paper over where the two lines ended and cut it out, giving me one full, flat, cozy pattern.

Coffee cozy pattern

Then I used that paper to cut out two cozies from some black felt.  At the time, my plan was to make two cozies but I ended up using both pieces to make the  one.

Then I cut out some little leaves (and even a pumpkin!) from the yellow, orange, and red felt.  Freehand, baby!  No drawing first or anything.  I laid them on the black cozy in an arrangement I liked but then was too lazy to pin them down so they all fell off when I started sewing the first one.

Coffee cozy de oration, pre-sewn

I used two strands of thread and  sewed the leaves down while adding detail.  I did the same with the pumpkin.  I had planned on using some green embroidery thread to make a leaf or stem on the pumpkin but Doll was sleeping in the room where I keep my box of embroidery thread so . . . no stem.  Or leaf.  Sorry.

Leaves sewn onto coffee cozy

Pumpkin sewed onto coffee cozy

I should also mention I had a really bad headache at the time and I wasn’t about to go out of my way to do anything extra (hence the no-pinning-down of the little pieces).

But considering that, I think I did pretty good.  It was a pretty bad headache.  Can you believe that two glasses of chocolate milk didn’t fix it??  I know, I still can’t believe it.  And while I’m at it, if you noticed that some of the pictures are rather low quality?  Sorry, that was the headache too.
Flat coffee cozy with decoration

 

Where was I?

Oh right, so I sewed down the leaves and boring pumpkin then I noticed that since I did that, the backside of the cozy was pretty dang ugly.  I don’t do much hand sewing or embroidery or whatever.  I avoid it like the plague.  I’m like the knot-queen.  So just take my word for it when I say the back of the cozy was looking kind of . . . what’s a good word . . . furry?  Yeah, that’ll work.

I had already planned on doing a blanket stitch around the edges of the cozy and to sew together the two ends because  A) I’ve actually done that stitch once before and it’s pretty easy and looks “fancy” and B) I needed to add more colour (yes! There is a “u” in colour in my country!).

Blanket stitch on coffee cozy

Ahem.  Excuse me for my outburst.  Hubby likes to tell me I’m spelling things wrong all the time.  It’s not funny anymore after nine years so I tend to be a little defensive.

Right, so ugly backside (the cozy’s, not mine.  I mean, I think mine is ok.  Maybe like a 7/10?) and I planned to stitch around the edges anyway.  Enter cozy number two!

So I just put the second cozy on the back of the first one and used the blanket stitch to sew the two pieces together and then sew the two cozy ends together.  The joining ends came out a little yuck.  I’ll be honest and blame it on my own laziness (aka headache) because I didn’t properly research how to join the ends.  I just winged (wung?) it.  And I also got a knot about halfway down and in trying to free it ended up pulling all the stitches behind it pretty tight.

Coffee cozy stitched together

All in all, I’m happy with my craft!

Homemade coffee cozy

Coffee cozy

One thought on “#TOP5CRAFTYMAMAS Picks of the Week!

Leave a Reply

