The Essentials to Beating that Cold! {Guest Post By: Kaitlin from MommyAloneTime}

The Essentials to beating that cold!.png

 

It’s that time of year again…colds, flu, nasty germs everywhere! Gross. Especially when your precious little one is around other precious little ones who have those nasty germs, right?

Now, I deal with colds and allergy induced sicknesses on a year-round basis because we live where it is always muggy and humid and the pollen count is always high. That is a nasty combination. So my household always has some sort of runny, stopped up nose and a pretty constant cough. When my little one was born, it made me nervous that she was always stopped up and coughing, so we went and saw her PCP and he determined that it was just part of the environment and it was going to happen! Ugh. I hated seeing her like that, especially when I was having the same thing going on with me.

Most of you know, by reading some of my other posts, that I am an avid believer in the Essential Oils. I have used them for many things and have always had pretty great results. So I started doing some research on some oils that might help beat the symptoms of our household colds!

oils

With further research, I found a couple of oils that are used for treating symptoms. So of course, I ordered them and began using them almost immediately! I’m going to be the first to tell you guys, since starting the use of the these oils, we have stayed out of my daughter’s pediatrician’s office for almost 6 months now! The only time that we go is for her well check-up visits. It has been amazing.

Let’s just get right into me telling you what oils I use and how I use them:

Here is what you needoils2

R.C. Essential Oil

Lemon Essential Oil

Lavender Essential Oil

Clove Essential Oil

A Carrier Oil (such as coconut oil, olive oil, or almond oil)

Cotton Balls

 

 

Now, all of these are Young Living Essential Oils. I add 5 drops of each oil to a small bowl and for every drop of oil you use, add 2 drops of the carrier oil, just to help dilute the oils and make them less harsh in case your child has sensitive skin! Dip the cotton ball into the concoction and apply to your child’s chest, back and a little behind their ears! (If you want to knock it out a little faster, get your hands on some Thieves Essential oil and add that to your child’s feet! Be sure to put socks on so the oil doesn’t get on the floor and rub off!)

That’s it. This has been a lifesaver in my household. I even use it when I feel something coming on! Plus, it’s a great way to save money on medications!

 


 

About the blogger:

 

mommak

 

I’m Kaitlin. I am a full time student and a full time mom! I love giving tips and helpful hints to make parenting a little bit easier! I am obsessed with essential oils and finding other ways to make money, for all the SAHM’s! I love blogging and blogging about what I love!

You can find Kaitlin at:

Blog            Twitter

Leave a Reply

